Musical Mondays!

I am not sure about the rest of the world but here in the UK, our music charts are aired on a Sunday evening.

Monday’s will therefore become the very originally named ‘Musical Mondays!’

Every Monday I shall post a selection of ‘Number Ones’ from around the world.

(I have kind of decided that this blog is more about ‘stuff found on the internet’ as opposed to just social networking sites.. but that’s the point of these things right? To see how they evolve..)

So, this week the UK presents itself with a very patriotic Number 1 –

Gary Barlow and The Commonwealth Band featuring The Military Wives

(Click the link to view the video – I still haven’t worked out how to insert the actual footage as opposed to just the link!)

Now, I am going to be honest, when watching this song performed live at the Diamond Jubilee I wasn’t that impressed (I know, I know, I’m a bad person..), however, I think it was more the nerves of the performers that got in the way – the recorded version is way better, almost tear-jerkingly.  In this case it’s the sentiment behind the song that’s important anyway right?

Also?  The man dancing at 1 minute 55 – Priceless.

Around the World

Both the European Chart and that of the USA hold the same Number One this week –

Gotye featuring Kimbra – Somebody That I Used To Know

I have to say, this is not my usual taste in music, However I LOVE this song.  I could literally listen to it on repeat for days (ok, maybe days is a slight exaggeration.. but you get my drift..) Good old Gotye has dropped down to Number 17 in the UK chart so it is good to see he is still holding his own across the pond..

And finally…

Canada and the Czech Republic share their Number 1 with the world charts

Carley Rae Jepson – Call Me Maybe

Having spent 11 weeks in the UK charts and still only moving down to Number 7, she’s not doing bad!  Although a little over played on the radio, I must say, this song catches on!

One thought on “Musical Mondays!

  1. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I will send this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

